Originally part of Pitt Township, Bellevue was formed in 1867. Part of the Depreciation Lands reserved for Revolutionary War veterans, the neighborhood has the distinction of being incorporated only after young Frankie East was born. This birth increased the towns population to 300, which was the prerequisite for residents to file a petition for incorporation with the Allegheny County Court of Quarter Sessions.
Bellevue has four borders, including the borough of Avalon to the northwest, Ross Township to the north and east, and the Pittsburgh neighborhood of Brighton Heights to the southeast. Bellevue also runs adjacent with Stowe Township across the Ohio River to the southwest.
The first owners of the Depreciation Lands were James Robinson and Hugh Henry Brackenridge. The former is the namesake of General Robinson Street and acquired his land in1799, operating a tavern and ferry stop on the North Side of Pittsburgh where PNC Park now stands. Brackenridge acquired two tracts of land in1792 from Pine and Ross townships that became Bellevue.
The name Bellevue, meaning “beautiful view” was coined by a French scholar and linguist, J.J. East. His home was on a terrace at Lincoln and Florence and overlooked the Ohio River. It is also known as the “Borough’s Birthplace” as this was supposedly where Frankie East was born.
After prohibition ended, Bellevue decided to remain a “dry” borough until 2015.
Today Bellevue is a quiet residential neighborhood with many Victorian style homes. The residents enjoy a vibrant business district and a rich history.